Nuzzolilli Wins AMA Pro Hillclimb Round 2 at Freemansburg Hill

FREEMANSBURG, Penn. (June 17, 2013) - Vinny Nuzzolilli rebounded from a broken engine in round one to take the Unlimited class win and post the fast time of the day in round two of the AMA Pro Hillclimb Series at the Bushkill Valley Motorcycle Club located in Freemansburd Penn., sponsored by Wiseco and PsychMXGrafix. John Koester moved up two spots from his round-one performance to top the Xtreme class with the class’s only sub-ten-second ride. Nick Drummer also stepped up from his round-one finish by winning the Pro Sport class.

Pro Sport riders tackled the hill first with Dereck Eckert leading the charge. Eckert’s ride ended after 210 feet. Devin Sweitzer followed with a 375-foot climb. Josh Kobel rode hard but stopped just ten feet short of Sweitzer’s mark. Riding late in the order, Drummer posted a 14.748 E.T.; the first Pro Sporter to cross the finish line.

In second-half Pro Sport action, Eckert and Molly Carbon both bettered there distances to 325 and 320 feet (respectively), but not enough for the podium. Kobel took over second from Sweitzer by cresting in 18.091 seconds. At the finish it was Drummer, Kobel and Sweitzer- 1, 2, and 3, in order.

The Xtreme class first half, Phil Libhart took an early lead with a time of 11.592 seconds. Jay Sallstrom laid down a 12.655-second ride and Jockamo Baldina crested in 13.966 for second and third, temporarily. Late in the order, Nuzzolilli and Shane Green bested Sallstrom and Baldina with E.T.’s of 12.056 and 12.368, respectively.

It all changed after halftime when Koester blazed up the hill in 9.973 seconds and bumped Libhart down a spot. Shane Green stopped the clock at 11.182 seconds, moving into second. Anthony DeHart followed with an 11.428-second ride for third. Libhart, seeing his hopes of a win disintegrate, tried to regain a spot on the podium but was seven-tenths of a second off the pace. On the Xtreme class podium it was Koester, on top followed by Green and DeHart, second and third, respectively.

Round one winner, Jay Sallstrom posted the first time in the Unlimited class, setting the pace at 10.966 seconds. Koester and Chris Chartier, Jr. topped the hill with times for second and third, for the moment at least. Late in the order, 2012 Champ, Vinny Nuzzolilli screamed over the top with the first, and only, sub-ten-second ride at 9.931- he was not to be beaten. Green followed with a 10.301 E.T., knocking Sallstrom to third.

After intermission Sallstrom fought to regain the lead, but his 10.241-second ride only moved him up one step on the second podium and bumped Green to third. It was Nuzzolilli, Sallstrom and Green- first, second and third in order.

On the podium with champagne bottle in hand, Nuzzolilli said that fans can expect to see him and Sallstrom dogfighting all season long- sounds exciting!

In Unlimited class series points, Sallstrom leads Nuzzolilli and Libhart by six points. Koester leads the Xtreme class with DeHart and Sallstrom in hot pursuit, just three and four points back, respectively. Pro Sporter Drummer leads his class, ahead of Kobel by five points and Nicholas Bleau by seven points.

U/L: 1. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 2. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 3. Shane Green (Hon); 4.Phil Libhart (Tri); 5. Greg Dunbar (Hon).

Xtreme: 1. John Koester (Hon); 2. Shane Green (Hon); 3. Anthony DeHart (Hon); 4. Phil Libhart (Tri); 5. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon).

Pro Sport: 1. Nick Drummer (Hon); 2. Josh Kobel (Kaw); 3. Devin Sweitzer (Hon); 4. Derek Eckert (Suz); 5. Molly Carbon (Hon).